Cox & Perez Selected to All-Conference Team

Stephanie Cox (left) & Veronica Perez (right) (photos by Jane Gershovich)

W-League News Release -

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League announced its 2012 All-Conference teams today, honoring the standout players who led their teams during the league’s 18th regular season. The W-League All-Conference Teams, selected through a vote of team management, feature some of the top young women’s soccer talent in the world.

Each of the four teams that will compete in this weekend’s W-League Championship presented by Umbro in Ottawa, Ontario are represented on the All-Conference teams, with the top-seeded Pali Blues leading the way with five selections and the host Ottawa Fury next with four. The Eastern Conference Champion D.C. United Women placed three players on the All-Conference team, and the Central Conference’s Quebec City Amiral also had a player selected.

D.C. United defender Marisa Abegg (Eastern), Ottawa Fury goalkeeper Jasmine Phillips (Central), and Pali Blues defender Sasha Andrews and Santa Clarita Blue Heat forward Edite Fernandes (Western) are the only players to be selected for the second consecutive season.

The W-League All-League Team will be announced on Tuesday, July 24. The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, July 25, with the awards presented at the W-League Championship banquet in Ottawa on Saturday, July 28. Goalkeeper of the Year will also be presented at the banquet.

All-Conference Teams

Western Conference
GK – Anna Maria Picarelli, Pali Blues
D – Sasha Andrews, Pali Blues
D – Stephanie Cox, Seattle Sounders Women
D – Michelle Pao, Pali Blues
D – Brooke Spence, Colorado Rapids Women
MF – Brittany Bock, Colorado Rush
MF – Sarah Huffman, Pali Blues
MF – Veronica Perez, Seattle Sounders Women
F – Edite Fernandes, Santa Clarita Blue Heat
F – Jenna Richardson, Vancouver Whitecaps
F – Lynn Williams, Pali Blues

Eastern Conference
GK – Robyn Jones, Charlotte Lady Eagles
D – Marisa Abegg, D.C. United Women
D – Vaila Barsley, Long Island Rough Riders
D – Sabbath McKiernan-Allen, Charlotte Lady Eagles
D – Tabitha Padgett, Central S.C. Cobras
MF – Yael Averbuch, New Jersey Wildcats
MF – Ashley Clarke, North Jersey Valkyries
MF – Hayley Siegel, D.C. United Women
F – Kristin Burton, Atlanta Silverbacks
F – Grace Hawkins, Long Island Rough Riders
F – Mikaela Howell, D.C. United Women

Central Conference

GK – Jasmine Phillips, Ottawa Fury
D – Alyscha Motterhead, Toronto Lynx
D – Haillie Price, Hamilton FC Rage
D – Cindy Walsh, Laval Comets
D – Kathryn Williamson, Ottawa Fury
MF – Catherine Charron-Delage, Laval Comets
MF – Katrina-Lee Gorry, Ottawa Fury
MF – Lisa-Marie Woods, Ottawa Fury
F – Nkemjika Ezurike Nathalie, Laval Comets
F – Kinley McNicoll, Toronto Lynx
F – Imen Trodi, Quebec City Amiral

Single Match Tix Leroux
Brotherton cadillac
Adidas white web
Starfire Logo small
MVP Physical Therapy logo
WYS registration
KKNW 1150 AM
Renew Season Tix Banner

© 2012 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems